Mark Searcy – Power Of Love | Album Review

Mark Searcy – Power Of Love

self release

10 songs time – 45:59

Texas based guitarist-singer-songwriter Mark Searcy brings a whimsical blues infused Americana vibe to his music. The line up consists of the basic guitar, bass drums, keyboards and of course the occasional tuba for good measure. He possesses a powerful set of pipes a full array of guitar styles. His guitar stings when necessary and adjusts it to suit the mood of any given song.

All songs are composed by Mark Searcy except for “House Where Nobody Lives” by Tom Waits. It’s not one of his signature “word play” songs, but the band does it more than justice with their poignant read on it. Mark’s commanding voice, slide and standard guitar make the song that more compelling. With it’s silly lyrics and fifties goofy vibe “Ding Dong Diddley Dadgum” reminds one of NRBQ, particularly with the inclusion of a mention of “An RC Cola and a Moon Pie”. A feel good tune from beginning to end.

The ballad “Free” features soaring guitar that just cuts through you. The title song is a pleasant ballad with George Harrison style slide guitar accents. A little down home good time lunacy with “Blue Star”. Now for Dickie Betts-Allman Brothers time on “Time Keeps Slipping”. Soaring guitar ala The Brothers. “Col du Tourmalet” is a slow and moody lament ripe with brooding electric guitar.

More whimsy in the old time rag of “Dead Boy’s Rag” with it’s nonsensical lyrics. “Back In My Arms” is a tender ballad with a beautiful electric guitar tone, piano and organ. Finishing things up is Jimi Hendrix-Robin Trower inspired instrumental “Farewell To Jake”. Guitars waft upwards to the heavens.

Mark and his crew have crafted a solid piece of work utilizing various genres of music. A worthwhile and truly entertaining project using a first class group of supporting musicians. Producer Matt Smith captured a clear sound that gives a clear picture of each instrument. A good time is guaranteed for all!

Please follow and like us: