The Blues Blast Ticker
Issue 10-47 December 1, 2016 (December 1, 2016 12:15 am)

The Latest From Blues Blast!

jimmccartycd

Jim McCarty & Friends – Live From Callahan’s II | Album Review

Dec 07, 2016Comments off

Jim McCarty & Friends  - Live From Callahan’s II Self-Release – 2016 9 tracks; 72 minutes www.jimmccartyandfriends.com Jim McCarty is best known for his stints on guitar with Mitch Ryder and Buddy Miles.  He lives close to

thefreemontscd

The Fremonts – Alligator | Album Review

Dec 06, 2016Comments off

The Fremonts - Alligator Truax Records – 2016 15 tracks; 50 minutes www.thefremonts.com The Fremonts hail from San Diego and this is their fourth album release. The band adopts a mono recording approach which gives a real

danbubiencd

Dan Bubien – Grinding These Gears | Album Review

Dec 05, 2016Comments off

Dan Bubien - Grinding These Gears Self-Produced www.danbubien.com CD: 10 Songs, 47:05 Minutes        Styles: Contemporary Electric Blues and Blues Rock, Roots Rock Can the blues be beautiful? Is that adjective only fit for genres such as classical

thecadillackingcd

The Cadillac Kings – The Secret Of My Success | Album Review

Dec 04, 2016Comments off

The Cadillac Kings - The Secret Of My Success 33 Records – 2016 14 tracks; 59 minutes www.cadillackings.co.uk The Cadillac Kings are undoubtedly the top rhythm and blues band on the UK scene and their latest album

michaelskinnercd

Michael Skinner – New Arrangements | Album Review

Dec 04, 2016Comments off

Michael Skinner – New Arrangements Independent http://michaelskinner3.com/ 13 Tracks; 57 minutes This is not a Blues Album. It is an eclectic mix of R&B, Funk, Jazz, Gospel, and Blues with a little 70s’ cheese thrown in.

jimsuhlercd

Jim Suhler & Monkey Beat – Live At The Kessler | Album Review

Dec 03, 2016Comments off

Jim Suhler & Monkey Beat - Live At The Kessler www.jimsuhler.com Underworld Records 15 songs – 70 minutes Jim Suhler is an interesting one. Almost a Texas institution, his biting yet melodic guitar playing and smart, sassy

bluescargocd

Blues Cargo – On Time | Album Review

Dec 03, 2016Comments off

Blues Cargo - On Time www.bluescargo.gr Melon Music 12 songs time-62:59 The international reach of the blues continues to amaze along with the way the blues sound is absorbed in many foreign lands while creating new blues

lurriebellcd

Lurrie Bell – Can’t Shake This Feeling | Album Review

Dec 02, 2016Comments off

Lurrie Bell – Can’t Shake This Feeling Delmark Records http://lurrie.com/ 13 tracks If I had to choose a current musician that exemplifies what Chicago Blues is all about the name that comes to mind first is

cover10_47medium

Issue 10-47 December 1, 2016

Dec 01, 2016Comments off

Cover photo by Lisa Gray © 2016  In This Issue  Don Wilcock has our feature interview with Bernard Allison. We have 8 Blues reviews for you this week including new music from Lurrie Bell, Blues Cargo,

tonytorrescd

Tony Torres – A Real Gone Time | Album Review

Nov 30, 2016Comments off

Tony Torres - A Real Gone Time   www.tonytorres.co 16 Tracks; 66 minutes Guitar Slingers of the world, unite! This is your CD. Tony Torres is an unabashed slinger who blends blues riffs with high octane leads.