2008 Blues Blast Music Awards

2008 Nominees

(Winners in Bold w/yellow Highlight)

2008 Lifetime Achievement Award David ”Honeyboy” Edwards

 Best Blues Band
Nick Moss
Kilborn Alley Blues Band
Bryan Lee
Magic Slim& The Teardrops
Back Door Slam

Best Contemporary Blues Recording
Too Slim and the Taildraggers – The Fortune Teller
Moreland & Arbuckle – 1861
Mem Shannon – Live: A Night At Tipitina’s
Watermelon Slim & The Workers – The Wheel Man
Holmes Brothers – State of Grace

Best Traditional Blues Recording
Omar Dykes & Jimmy Vaughan  – Jimmy Reed Highway
Bobby Rush, RAW
Lurrie Bell – Let’s Talk About Love
Dave Riley & Bob Corritore  – Travelin’ the Dirt Road
Honeyboy Edwards – Roamin’ & Ramblin’

Best Blues Song
“Mistakes of the Past” – Nick Moss
“Ain’t Gonna Happen Again” The National Debonaires, New Sounds From Kansas City
“Little Green Talking Frog”-My Life – Sugar Ray Norcia, My L:ife, My Friends, My Music
“Jimmy Reed Highway” – Omar Kent Dykes & Steve Callif, Omar Dykes & Jimmie Vaughan – On the Jimmy Reed Highway
“The Wheel Man” – William Homans, Watermelon Slim & The Workers – The Wheel Man

Best Male Artist
Lurrie Bell
Buddy Guy
Bobby Rush
Nick Moss
Bryan Lee

Best Female Artist
Koko Taylor
Teeny Tucker
Diunna Greenleaf
Betty Harris
Bettye LaVette

Best New Artist Debut Recording
Gina Sicilia – Allow Me To Confess
The Soul of John Black – The Good Girl Blues
Moreland & Arbuckle – 1861
Diunna Greenleaf and Blue Mercy – Cottonfields to Coffee
John Nemeth – Magic Touch

Sean Costello Rising Star Award
John Nemeth
Homemade Jamz Blues Band
John-Alex Mason
Seth Walker
Eden Brent