2009 Blues Blast Music Awards

2009 Nominees 

(Winners in Bold w/yellow Highlight)

2009 Lifetime Achievement Award – Koko Taylor

Best Contemporary Blues Recording
The Insomniacs – At Least I’m Not With You
John Nemeth – Love Me Tonight
Nick Moss – Live at Chan’s Vol 2
Curtis Salgado – Clean Getaway
Janiva Magness – What Love Will Do
Shemekia Copeland – Never going Back

Best Traditional Blues Recording
Various Artists – Chicago Blues: A Living History (w/Billy Boy Arnold, John Primer, Billy Branch & Lurrie Bell)
Guy Davis – Sweetheart Like You
John Primer – All Original
The Mannish Boys – Lowdown Feelin
Shirley Johnson – Blues Attack
B.B. King – One Kind Favor

Best Blues Song
Albert Castiglia – “Bad Year Blues”
The Insomniacs – “At Least I’m Not With You”
Chris James & Patrick Rynn – “Mr. Coffee”
Curtis Salgado – “20 Years of B.B. King”
Kenny Neal – “Let Life Flow”
B.B. King – “See That My Grave is Kept Clean”

Best Blues Band
Nick Moss and The Flip Tops
Lil Ed And The Blues Imperials
Kilborn Alley Blues Band
The Mannish Boys
The Insomniacs
Watermelon Slim and The Workers

Best Male Artist
John Primer
Bobby Jones
Lurrie Bell
Nick Moss
John Nemeth
Elvin Bishop

Best Female Artist
Shirley Johnson
Robin Rogers
Diunna Greenleaf
Shemekia Copeland
Eden Brent
Janiva Magness

Best New Artist Debut Recording
Chris James & Patrick Rynn – Stop And Think About It
Joanne Shaw Taylor – White Sugar
Dave Herrero – Austin To Chicago
Cedric Burnside & Lightnin’ Malcolm – 2 Man Wrecking Crew
Guy King – Livin It
Eden Brent – Mississippi Number One

Sean Costello Rising Star Award
Kilborn Alley Blues Band
Joanne Shaw Taylor
Albert Castiglia
Dave Gross
Cedric Burnside & Lightnin’ Malcolm
Eden Brent