17th Blues Blast Music Awards Announced

Press Release

2024 Blues Blast Music Award Nominees Announcement

From Blues Blast Magazine – www.BluesBlastMagazine.com 

Contact Information: Bob Kieser (309) 267-4425 or info@bluesblastmagazine.com

In June of 2024, a group of music critics, journalists, festival promoters, music venue managers, musicians and other Blues music industry professionals nominated the best in Blues music in twenty three categories.

Voting Starts Monday July 15th, 2024

Fan voting begins July 15, 2024 and ends at midnight on August 31, 2024 on our website at http://www.BluesBlastMagazine.com. Voting is free and open to anyone.  You may only vote one time.  If you are not currently a subscriber you are automatically signed up as a subscriber to our free magazine as part of the voting process. Blues Blast Magazine subscriptions are always FREE and you may unsubscribe at any time at the bottom of each issue!

The nominees are listed below and on our website at: https://www.bluesblastmagazine.com/2024-blues-blast-music-award-nominees/ .

The Blues Blast Music Awards are presented by Blues Blast Magazine, the largest FREE weekly E-magazine with over 42,000 Blues fan subscribers located in all 50 states and in more than 90 countries.

Blues Blast Music Awards ceremonies

The Blues Blast Music Awards ceremonies are not being held this year.

2024 Blues Blast Music Award Nominees

Contemporary Blues Album

Shaun Murphy – I’m Coming Home

Chris O’Leary – The Hard Line

Anthony Geraci – Tears In My Eyes

Rick Vito – Cadillac Man

Rick Estrin & The Night Cats – The Hits Keep Coming

Selwyn Birchwood – Exorcist

Traditional Blues Album

Monster Mike Welch – Nothing But Time

The Dig 3 – Damn the Rent

Fiona Boyes – Ramblified

Johnny Burgin – Ramblin’ From Coast to Coast

Nick Moss Band – Get Your Back Into It

John Primer & Bob Corritore – Crawlin’ Kingsnake

Soul Blues Album

Blackburn Brothers – SoulFunkin’Blues

Dave Keller – It’s Time to Shine

Kevin Burt & Big Medicine – Thank You Brother Bill

Marcel Smith – From My Soul

Jeff Rogers – Dream Job

Eddie Cotton – The Mirror

Joakim Tinderholt – Deadlines

Rock Blues Album

The Wicked Lo-Down – Out Of Line

Mike Zito – Life is Hard

Coco Montoya – Writing on the Wall

JP Soars – Brick by Brick

Canned Heat – Finyl Vinyl

Bex Marshall – Fortuna

Acoustic Blues Album

EG Kight – Sticks & Strings

Sue Foley – One Guitar Woman

Arbuckle & Long – Gonna Be Justified

Tinsley Ellis – Naked Truth

Doug MacLeod – Raw Blues 2

Mick Kolassa – Wooden Music

Nic Clark – Everybody’s Buddy

Live Blues Album

Deb Ryder – Live & Havin’ Fun

Li’l Ronnie & the Grand Dukes – Got it Live from ‘05

Christone “Kingfish” Ingram – Live In London

Blood Brothers – Live in Canada 

Eric Bibb – Live at Scala Theatre

Sue Foley – Live In Austin Vol 1.

Historical Or Vintage Recording

Bob Corritore – Phoenix Blues Rumble

James Harman – Didn’t We Have Some Fun Sometime

Paul Oscher – Live At The Tombs House Of Detention, NYC

Keef Hartley Band – Live at Essen

Magic Slim & John Primer feat. The Teardrops – Slow Blues

Omar & The Howlers – Magic Man Live In Bremen 1989

New Artist Debut Album

BLUES People – The Skin I’m In

Garnetta Cromwell – Time to Shine

DK Harrell – The Right Man

Joel Astley – Seattle to Greaseland

Mathias Lattin – Up Next

Nicholas Alexander – Lil Hoochie

Blues Band Of The Year

The Dig 3

Blackburn Brothers

Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats

The Cash Box Kings

Southern Avenue

Male Blues Artist

John Primer

Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)

D.K. Harrell

Kevin Burt

Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Bobby Rush

Female Blues Artist

Shaun Murphy

Sue Foley

Annika Chambers-DesLauriers

Danielle Nicole

Fiona Boyes

Ruthie Foster

Sean Costello Rising Star Award

Harrell “Young Rell” Davenport

Mathias Lattin

Joel Astley

Candice Ivory

Stephen Hull

Producer Of The Year

Bob Corritore

Kid Andersen

Joe Bonamassa & Josh Smith

Tony Braunagel

Tom Hambridge

Mike Zito

Electric Guitarist Of The Year

Monster Mike Welch

Nick Moss

Joanna Connor

Duke Robillard

Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Laura Chavez

Acoustic Guitarist Of The Year

Kevin Burt

Doug MacLeod

Sue Foley

Eric Bibb

Tinsley Ellis

Catfish Keith

Slide Guitarist Of The Year

JP Soars

Joanna Connor

Fiona Boyes

Derek Trucks

Rick Vito

Sonny Landreth

Bass Guitarist Of The Year

Jerry Jemmott

Bob Stroger

Rodrigo Mantovani

Danielle Nicole

Larry Fulcher

Michael “Mudcat” Ward

Keyboard Player Of The Year

Jim Pugh

Anthony Geraci

Ben Levin

Eden Brent

Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne

Mitch Woods

Percussionist Of The Year

June Core

Derrick D’mar Martin

Kenny “Beedy Eyes” Smith

Tom Hambridge

Tony Braunagel

Tony Coleman

Harmonica Player Of The Year

Jason Ricci

Bob Corritore

Dennis Greunling

Charlie Musselwhite

Billy Branch

Kim Wilson

Horn Player Of The Year

Jimmy Carpenter

Vanessa Collier

Sax Gordon Beadle

Trombone Shorty

Eric Demmer

Deanna Bogart

Vocalist Of The Year

Ruthie Foster

Bobby Rush

John Németh

Marcel Smith

Billy Price

D.K. Harrell

Blues Video Of The Year

Lurrie Bell and Frank Catalano – Set Me Free https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ca0gG4x1Ig

Buck69 – Peace Maker https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5TRWlCA_q4g

Johnny Burgin – Ramblin’ From Coast to Coast https://youtu.be/437O5PJq750?si=BHmgbHiI84vEMBtc

Hughes Taylor- Ballad of Big Bill McGuire https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYuWjFGMMGc

John Clifton – Every Waking Hour https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63MccGKlZgA

Omar and The Howlers – No Peace in the City https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTtbGTvoFoM

Please follow and like us: